Acme Studios — Announcing Acme's 2018/19 Graduate Artists

Supporting Artists since 1972

Announcing Acme's 2018/19 Graduate Artists

6 November 2018

We are proud to announce Cora Seghal Cuthbert (City & Guilds of London School of Art Award), Greta Davies (Adrian Carruthers Award, Slade School of Art), Kate Howard (Goldsmiths MFA Award), Marylyn Molisso (Helen Scott Lidgett Award, Central Saint Martins, UAL) and Mitchell Vowles (Jonathan Harvey Award, Chelsea College of Arts, UAL) as recipients of our 2018/19 Graduate Awards.

Working from shared studios at Warton House over 12 months, artists develop their practice through a combination of group and individual mentoring from visiting artists and curators, and professional development opportunities. Working as part of an active peer community, artists receive a bursary of £7,000 to support their practice and will be working with highly respected public galleries Auto Italia and PEER towards a public exhibition or project.

Acme’s Graduate Programme is a highly selective programme of support for recent graduates from leading art schools, consisting of a number of individual awards. The programme aims to create a substantial intervention at a critical moment in artists’ careers, as students transition from the supportive environment of an arts institution into lifelong professional practice.

Open to artists who demonstrate an outstanding artistic practice, and who would otherwise lack the means to undertake such an opportunity, the awards give individuals the time and space to focus on developing their practice, enabling them to position themselves as professional artists within a global cultural environment. Running since 2002, 46 artists have benefitted from the programme, with 81% having gone on to present solo exhibitions of their work within 5 years.

Acme’s Graduate Programme works in collaboration with Camberwell College of Arts (UAL), Central Saint Martins (UAL), Chelsea College of Arts (UAL), City of London School of Art, Goldsmiths College (UoL), Slade School of Fine Art (UCL), and Wimbledon College of Arts (UAL), and is generously supported by Jane Hamlyn, Tomart Foundation and the families of Adrian Carruthers and Helen Scott Lidgett.